Tungsram 12AX7?

Tube-specific discussions

Moderators: zaphod_phil, CurtissRobin, colossal

marino2005
Unrated

Tungsram 12AX7?

Post by marino2005 »

Can someone confirm that this tube is or can be Tungsram ECC83/12AX7?
This is a tube that I bought as NOS Tungsram, but I wasnt able to find any of these tubes labeled with 12AX7. All of them have Tungsram logo and ECC83 below, so I'm interested to find out what this really is. I paid pretty much for this tube to a reputable dealer.
It has the same plate structure as original Tungsram though.

Thanks for help!

Marino
0 x

teefus
Unrated

Post by teefus »

hmm. i'm no expert but i think the one with the arrow in my photo is a tungsram 12ax7. hope this helps.Image

opps. it might be an rft now that i think about it. there are some tungsram 12ax7's in the photo somewhere. let me look some more.
0 x

zaphod_phil
Builder, Admin
Builder, Admin

Re: Tungsram 12AX7?

Post by zaphod_phil »

marino2005 wrote:Can someone confirm that this tube is or can be Tungsram ECC83/12AX7? This is a tube that I bought as NOS Tungsram, but I wasnt able to find any of these tubes labeled with 12AX7. All of them have Tungsram logo and ECC83 below, so I'm interested to find out what this really is.
Sounds perfect! ECC83 is just the European name for a 12AX7A. So you've got exactly what you want. :)
0 x
Nature abhors a clean tube amp

marino2005
Unrated

Post by marino2005 »

Thanx for comments!

I know that 12AX7 equals ECC83, I just noticed that ALL Tungsram tubes
have Tungsram logo and ECC83 below. This is because Tungsram is Hungarian company. My tube has 12AX7 only on the glass.
This is why I'm confused. But since the plate structure seems identical to those on other Tungsram tube photos, and the fact that it sounds great,
I'm pretty sure I got what I wanted and paid for.

Marin
0 x

dotfret
Frequent poster
Frequent poster

Post by dotfret »